Create, Delete, and Set Roles

Create New Roles

The Acrolinx Server comes included with a set of preconfigured roles. If you have groups of privileges that are not covered by the preconfigured roles, you can add new roles or make minor adjustments to the privileges for the existing roles.

To create a new role, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to Users > Roles.
  2. Click Add New Role.
  3. On the Edit Role page, enter a name for the new role and select the desired privileges for the new role from the different areas.

    When selecting a privilege, you might notice that other privileges appear selected as a result. This behavior indicates that the selected privilege depends on other privileges to function correctly.

    For example, most privileges require the user to have the Dashboard privilege Log on as a prerequisite.

  4. (Optional) Click Add Restriction next to the privilege Edit terms or Change the status of a term to restrict the privilege to a certain language or domain.
  5. Save the new role.

Delete Roles

You might delete roles if you do not need some of the preconfigured roles or if you created a role that is no longer applicable. However, there are some types of roles that you cannot delete:

  • You cannot delete the preconfigured built-in roles AuthorSuper Administrator, and Term Browser.
  • You cannot delete roles that are configured as a default role. You must first deselect the role in the Default column.
  • You cannot delete roles that are currently assigned to one or more users. You must first remove the role from the relevant users.

To delete a role, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to Users > Roles.
  2. Select the checkboxes to the left of the roles you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete and confirm the deletion in the dialog box by clicking OK.

Set a Default Role

You can configure Acrolinx to automatically assign at least one default role to all new users. Default roles are assigned to users who are created in the Dashboard as well as users who register from a plug-in. You can change the default roles depending on the requirements of your organization.

To change the default roles, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to Users > Roles.
  2. Select the checkboxes next to the roles in the Default column.
  3. (Optional) Click OK in the popup window to apply the new default role or Cancel to undo the change.