Share, Edit, and Manage Filters

Sharing with People Who Have Dashboard Access

Suppose that you're managing different lists of terms for different projects. You'll probably want to save those lists as filters and share them with other people who are working on the same projects.

You can share your filters with anyone as long as they have a role that contains the "term edit" privilege.

To share a filter with people who have Dashboard access, follow these steps:

  1. Open your filter and navigate to ActionsChange Filter Sharing... .
  2. In the window that appears, click the usernames of the people who you want to share your filter with.

    You can also stop sharing a filter with someone by clicking their name in the Filter Recipients list.

  3. Click OK to confirm your changes.

Sharing with People Who Use the Term Browser

Not everyone can sign in to the Dashboard. You might have freelance writers who occasionally use the Term Browser to look up official product names and terminology. No problem, you can share your filter with them too.

Before you start sharing, make sure that you have a role with the privilege "Share filters with the Term Browser". To see your privileges, click Settings in the top-right section of the Dashboard.

To share a filter with people who use the Term Browser, follow these steps:

  1. Open your filter and navigate to Actions  > Share with Term Browser Users.

    If this menu item is disabled, it could be that you're trying to share someone else's filter. You can't share someone else's filter with the Term Browser, only a filter that you created.

  2. In the confirmation prompt that appears, select whether you want the filter to be the default filter that loads when people open the Term Browser.

    If you don't want to make it the default filter, just click OK without selecting anything.

    You can also stop sharing a filter with Term Browser users, select ActionsStop Sharing with Term Browser Users list.

Editing, Saving, and Deleting Filters

You can update the criteria for a filter after you've opened it. You can do this with filters you've saved yourself and filters that other people have shared with you.

If you change the search criteria of an active filter, an asterisk appears beside the name of the filter in the Navigation Menu to indicate that you haven't saved your changes.

  • To save your changes, navigate to Actions> Save This Filter... You'll always get prompted to confirm the name of the filter:
    • To update the filter you have open, just click OK without changing the filter name.
    • To make a copy of one of your own filters, enter a new name and click OK.
    • If you save a copy of a filter that someone has shared with you, Acrolinx will propose a new name.

      If you need to, update the name, then click OK.

  • To rename a filter, select ActionsRename This Filter...

    You can only rename your own filters. You can't rename other people's filters. That would be asking for trouble.

  • To delete a filter, select Actions> Delete This Filter...

    If you delete one of your own filters, it will disappear forever.

    You can delete someone else's shared filter, but don't worry, you're only deleting it from your list of saved filters. The person who shared the filter can still see it in their list of saved filters.

    However, if this hypothetical person is observant enough, they'll see that you're no longer in the list of recipients for that filter. So, be careful not to hurt anyone's feelings. Sharing is caring.

Navigate Between Filters

You can open a filter by navigating to ActionsOpen a Saved Filter.

What you might not immediately notice is that you can have several filters open at the same time.

You can switch between open filters in the navigation menu. Each open filter is displayed as a menu item under Terminology > Filter.

You can use the close buttons to close filters and remove the menu items from the navigation menu. If you navigate to Terminology Filter, you'll get the last unsaved filter that you had open.

Setting a Default Filter

If you work with the same set of terms every day, you probably don't want to have to click around to open your favorite filter every time you start work. Acrolinx can do that for you. All you have to do is set your favorite filter as the default filter.

For example, suppose that all your product releases have specific codenames, and you happen to be working on project "Crystal Bacon". You've got a filter for all the terms that relate to this project. You want to see it whenever you open the terminology section.

  • To set that filter as the default filter, navigate to ActionsOpen a Saved Filter... and click the little star next to the filter name so that it turns yellow.

    When you navigate to Terminology > Filter Acrolinx displays whatever filter you have set as your default filter.

    By the way, you don't have to stick to your own filters. You can also use someone else's shared filter as your default filter.