Configure Duplicate Detection Rules

By default, the Terminology Manager is configured to allow the input of most duplicate terms.

The only exception is the condition covered by the default duplicate detection rule. The default duplicate detection rule checks to see if you are importing a term that has the same unique identifier as a term stored in the Terminology Manager. Terms typically have unique identifiers in an import file when they are first exported from the Terminology Manager.

By default the default duplicate detection rule prevents you from importing the newer terms with duplicate UUIDs, but you can also change the Behavior During Import dropdown to overwrite the older terms with the newer terms based on the matching UUIDs.

Depending on your business rules, you may have instances where multiple terms with the same name and language are not permitted. You can use the Duplicate Detection Rules to change the default duplicate detection behavior.

Duplicate Detection Rules

To configure the duplicate detection rules, follow these steps

  1. Click the menu item Terminology > Customize > Duplicate Detection In the Navigation Menu.
  2. In the Active Column, select a Duplicate Detection Rule to activate the rule.
  3. Choose an action from the Behavior During Import dropdown.

    When users attempt to enter duplicate terms in the interface, the Terminology Manager always keeps the existing term and displays a list of conflicting terms according to the active rule.
  4. Click Save.