Review Changes to Checking Profile Settings

Once you have set up your checking profiles, you might want to review your changes and confirm that they will work as you intended. You might also want to check for any issues with your checking profiles or assignments. The Checking Profiles section contains several tools that you can use to review your changes and check for issues.

Ensure That Users Can’t Override a Checking Profile

You ensure that users always receive the settings that are defined in the checking profile by locking the profile. By default, checking profiles are unlocked.

What happens when users try to change their check settings depends on whether a checking profile is locked:

  • Unlocked - When a checking profile is unlocked, plug-in users can change their check settings.

    The updated check settings are then saved in the user preferences. The updated settings continue to apply after users close and reopen the Acrolinx options or the host application.

  • Locked - When a checking profile is locked, users can't change their settings at all.

To lock a checking profile, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to Guidance Settings Checking Profiles and select the checking profile that you want to lock.
  2. Select Locked and click Apply.

    Your changes take effect immediately.

Find Users Who Don’t Have Any Checking Profiles Assigned

When you start to create assignments, the Dashboard might display a warning that not all users have checking profiles assigned. It isn’t compulsory for all users to have a checking profile assigned. However, the list of unassigned users might include users who are supposed to receive checking profiles but don’t match any assignment.

To find users who don’t have any checking profiles assigned, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to Guidance Settings > Checking Profiles > Usage Reports Users
  2. Select Show unassigned users only and review the list of unassigned users.

    To see all available selectors for each user, click the Configure Columns button and select the option Select All.

Review the Checking Profile Assignments for All Users

Once you have created some assignments, you can review the "Users" report to confirm the checking profiles individual users will receive. You can use this report to make sure that all users receive the checking profiles that you want them to receive.

To review the checking profile assignments for all users, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to Guidance Settings > Checking Profiles > Usage Reports > Users
  2. Review the list of users and their assigned checking profiles.

    To review the users for a specific checking profile, sort by the Checking Profiles column.

Respond to Warnings About Obsolete Settings

When you work with checking profiles, you might notice red warning icons  next to the names of checking profiles or assignments. These warnings indicate that the checking profile or assignment contains a setting that no longer exists. You must remove the setting or replace it with a more up-to-date setting. If you don’t remove obsolete settings, checking profiles might not work as you expect them to. Settings with warning icons next to them have no effect.

Warnings in Checking Profiles

Suppose that you create the checking profile "EN Techpubs", which includes the term set "Switches". Later, you reorganize your term sets and delete the term set "Switches". The checking profile "EN Techpubs" still contains the term set "Switches" but this term set doesn’t exist any more. Warning icons are displayed next to the checking profile "EN Techpubs" and the term set "Switches".

  • To get rid of the warning icons, remove the term set "Switches" from the checking profile.

    If necessary, add a replacement term set.

If you stop a language server, the server can’t detect which guidance is available for checking profiles. When you stop a language server, warnings are displayed for all checking profiles that use the same language. To get rid of these warnings, start the language server again. 

Warnings in Assignments

Suppose that you create the assignment "EN Techpubs for the techpubs team". Later, the techpubs team is split into the sub teams of "training material" and "documentation" with different writing guides for each team. You delete "techpubs" from your list of teams and get users to update their information. However, the assignment "EN Techpubs for the techpubs team" is still selecting an obsolete team. Warning icons are displayed next to the assignment name and the value "techpubs" which is in the selector "Team".

  • To get rid of the warning icons, update the selector "Team" and select another value.